Classic Novels ‘Seasons Editions – Winter’

Published by Daisy on

♜ Home  »  Blog »  Nov 2019

Classic Novels 'Seasons Editions - Winter'

"The Seasons Editions" - Winter

Today’s video provides a short review of Thomas Nelson’s new ‘seasons editions’ set of classics, featuring their first series focusing on Winter.

This series includes a selection of classics chosen to reflect the season in which the main part of the story occurs, so for winter we have Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

UPDATE: If you’ve come here later, please check out all the rest of the ‘Seasons Editions’ books in my illustrated bibliography for this pretty die-cut series…

nelson books row

Each of the books is limited to 10,000 individually copies and a single print-run, making each book a first edition, first printing. The covers are classically beautiful, being stark white with an intricate laser-cut design over solid-coloured boards. Each cover design captures an element of the seasonal theme as well, such as a roaring fire, or a snowflake. The laser cut design is extended across the front and back of the jacket, and even on the spine, and the dust jacket thoughtfully comes in a protective plastic sleeve – so you can enjoy the delicacy of the book design without worrying about damaging it.

The books are made to last, with sewn pages, and they also feature sprayed page edges, decorative endpapers and a ribbon bookmark in a colour that matches the book exterior. The pages feature two-colour printing, with the chapter titles and dropped capitals in the complementary colour, along with eight decorative pages that feature winter-related quotes from the book.

I received Pride and Prejudice from the publisher as a review copy, and I loved it so much that I immediately ordered Wuthering Heights, and I plan to get the others in the set as well. The publishers plan to continue producing books in the series, and I’m very much looking forward to the Summer edition due out in June 2020, featuring Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Persuasion by Jane Austen, and the Wonderland collection by Lewis Carroll.

nelson pride and prejudice jane austen sm

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Buy on Amazon…

Buy on Book Depository…

nelson wuthering wuthering heights emily bronte sm

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Buy on Amazon…

Buy on Book Depository…

nelson a tale of two cities charles dickens sm

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Buy on Amazon…

Buy on Book Depository…

nelson little women louisa may alcott sm

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Buy on Amazon…

Buy on Book Depository…

Check availability on Abes…


I'm the founder and operator of the Beautiful Books website ツ

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Beautiful Books